About IRUN

The International Research Universities Network was initiated by Radboud University Nijmegen on 7 September 2007. Its members include:

  • Westflälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster
  • Universität Duisburg-Essen
  • Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen
  • Pázmány Peter Catholic University of Budapest
  • Universitá degli Studi di Siena
  • Universitat de Barcelona
  • Université de Poitiers
  • University of Glasgow
  • University of Ljubljana
  • Jagiellonian University




The aim of IRUN is to further improve the quality of research and teaching at the universities involved. Within the Network, the exchange of researchers, lecturers and students will be encouraged and facilitated. This may lead to joint curriculum development and joint degree programmes for Master's students and PhD candidates. Furthermore, the network will serve as a platform for joint conferences, symposiums and seminars.